Stroller Derby!

First off, has it been this long since I wrote a blog post?  And to make me feel double guilty, bloggers I admire, namely Jason Robillard of BRU and The Maple Grove Barefoot Guy, have recently written posts about successful blogs.  Of course, to be successful as a blogger means that I should WRITE.  Duh.

So I’m writing again, all of you fans can step back from the edge now.  It’s going to be okay.

Today’s contribution to the world is to describe my workout today.  I am lovingly calling it “Stroller Derby!”  Those of you that stay at home with kids and think that you don’t have time for exercise, I’m about to prove you wrong.

Necessary Equipment

First, you need a weight.  Mine is named “Nate”, and he weighs about 30 lbs.  Your weight will also need to like playgrounds.  My Nate weight loves playgrounds, and loves to run around and have fun.

Next, you need a playground.  That’s obvious.

The Exercise Plan

You will need to be a suitable distance from the playground, something that you are comfortable running, edging towards the challenging side.  We don’t have a suitable playground near our house, so I drive over and park in another housing development, and start my workout there.

Its really simple.  You load your Nate weight into some sort of acceptable pushcart.  I use something that my wife bought that she calls a “jogging stroller”.  The stroller is cool because you can load it up with more weight in the form of water, Gatorade, your iPod, etc.  The more weight in the stroller, the more fun running hills is!

Run!

Now, run to the playground.  If, as in my case, the playground is only .9 miles away from where you park, you should probably run in the wrong direction first to increase the mileage.

Exercise!

Once at the playground, your Nate weight becomes your timer.  Your goal is to run through as many different bodyweight exercises as you can in the 30-45 minutes you will be at the park.  You should start an exercise and do it until you reach burn out, or until your Nate weight interrupts you.  My Nate weight does that fairly often, needing help climbing up a ladder, needing to be pushed on the swing, needing to be told not to swim in the creek, or needing a diaper change.  You can also use your Nate weight for exercise, picking it up and putting it down.  Or chasing it around.

If you need creative suggestions for exercises, I recommend this really comprehensive list at Kemme Fitness.  In my workout today, I did:

  • Scorpion Push ups, spiderman push ups, air squats, lateral bounds, rowboats, tuck jumps, cross toe touchs, Brazilian crunches, all on the playground itself
  • Box jumps and uneven push ups on the retaining wall
  • Reverse Push Ups, Dips, and leg raises on the equipment

And more I can’t remember.  But you get the point.

Then…

Run Again!

Now, run back to your home (or car) as in my case.  If you are feeling adventurous, you can take another long run back.  In my case, I am usually wiped out from the heavy duty exercises on the playground, and my Nate weight is getting tired and cranky.  So I run the short route back.

And finally…

Nap!

Definitely your Nate weight should take a nap.  You probably can to, if you want.

Results

According to my FT60, my exercise was 1hr and 53 minutes long, burned 1490 calories, 17% of which was from fat, with an average heartrate of 141 and a max of 208.   The 208 happened when I hit the final sprint to the car to make my Nate weight laugh out loud.

One thought on “Stroller Derby!

  1. Great post Shane. I always knew you were as crazy as me!!

Leave a Reply

