Kemme Fitness – First Workout

Yesterday I did my first Kemme Fitness workout.  And I haven’t been this sore since I started doing the Insanity Workouts.

Kemme Fitness is a website run by Pete Kemme, who is about three different kinds of awesome and nine different kinds of crazy.  He believes in functional fitness, high intensity training, and constantly changing your training to keep things fresh and interesting.  He also makes a lot of his own equipment, such as a medicine ball created out of sand and a basketball, whom he calls “Carl”.

He’s also a police detective, so that scores big points in my book.

Without further ado, here is the workout I did.  I took the liberty of linking to YouTube videos of the different exercises.

Beginner – No Equipment

I took the (if you can) to be a personal challenge, and I did it twice.  Including about 10 minutes of warm up and 5 minutes of cool down, it took me 57 minutes to complete.  I burned 596 calories, 21 % of which was from fat, with an average heartrate of 126 bpm, and a max of 166 bpm.  It took a bit longer than it will in the future, because I had to stop and refresh myself on the exact form of a couple of the exercises.

I took 30 second breaks as needed.  Next time I will probably set an interval timer to do 3 minutes of exercise and 30 seconds of rest and see how that breaks it up.  And I will probably start swapping out exercises.

Why is that?  Because that is the point of Kemme Fitness.  Pete gives you these exercises as a guideline, and encourages experimentation.

So, the exercises were challenging, whole body, and a great workout.  The time it took to complete was around 40 minutes, and my heart rate was elevated appropriately the whole time.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t go ahead and link to my disclaimer.

Leave a Reply

