K-Fit – Week 1 and 2 Review

Disclaimers!

Before I get too far into this post, some disclaimers:

  1. I am a big fan of Kemme Fitness, which publishes K-Fit.
  2. I am into the whole “Functional Fitness” thing.
  3. While I’ve never met him face to face, I’ve had lots of email/FB/phone conversations with Pete Kemme, and hold him in high regard.
  4. Without going into details, lets just say that I’m personally invested in the success of Kemme Fitness in general.  More details to follow later this year.

What I’m getting at is that I am not the most unbiased person to write this review.  But, I am going to do my best to be objective.  So buckle your seat belts, keep your hands and feet inside cabin at all times, and enjoy the ride!

The Program

In response to people asking for a program, Kemme Fitness released K-Fit.  Its designed to introduce you to the whole functional fitness paradigm and the crazy workouts involved.  Its 12 weeks long, and you do 4 workouts a week.  You repeat the same workouts for two weeks, then move on to the next block of 4 workouts.  The only equipment you are required to have is a pull-up bar, a medicine ball, a physioball, and a kettlebell.

What I like

The first two weeks workout routines seem to be pretty well done.  They aren’t too challenging, but challenging enough to keep things interesting.  If you are doing what you are supposed to be doing, and attacking the exercises with gusto, you will be worn out at the end of the workout.  You will feel it in your muscles the next day, for sure.  You will also use all four pieces of equipment.  Workout #3 was fun because I got to use the kettlebells for the first time, and Workout #4 was fun because medicine ball slams are awesome.

Second, it is a good intro the the variety of exercises on the Kemme Fitness website.  When my wife first pushed me to do this program, I was initially not that interested.  She wanted the program because she did not want to have to think about what workout to do on what day of the week.  I was perfectly content just picking random workouts and tackling them however I saw fit.  But when I did the first weeks worth of workouts, I noticed a funny thing: I did my first Nose to Ground – and I did not like it.

The problem was that I expected not to like it.  And therefore, in the months that I had been doing workouts off of the Kemme Fitness website, I had managed to avoid, consciously or subconsciously, doing Nose to Ground.  And the K-Fit workout forced me into doing it.  And that is a good thing by all measures – if you are avoiding that which you find hard or unpleasant, you will not advance.  At least not at the pace you want to.

What I don’t like

You have to be self-motivated.  More so than other programs.  It requires a lot of motivation to decide to workout at home.  And having done a DVD based workout (namely Insanity), I know it requires a lot of motivation to get that done.  However, you have to take that to the next level to just tackle a list of exercises.  There is no timer going on the bottom of the TV screen, no branded t-shirt wearing awesome personal trainer guy on the screen telling you that you can do it.  Its just you, a piece of paper, and maybe a kettlebell.  By definition, this narrows the market to include only the hardcore self motivated people.  However, perhaps this is by design.

Second, I want more cardio.  Something very strange happened to me last year.  Aliens came down and put a pod under my bed, the government snuck in at night with a team of ninja surgeons and planted a chip in my head, or my wife started slipping something into my Diet Dr. Peppers.  Regardless, I like to run now.  I’m not terribly good at it, I’m slow and cumbersome, but I like doing it.  And so far, there isn’t a lot of running in the first two weeks.  Only 1 mile broken up in 1/10th of a mile increments.  However, I’m fixing that by just adding whatever cardio I want at the end of the workout.  Don’t get me wrong, you get quite the cardio workout if you are doing the workouts as prescribed, I just want more of it.  Pete will tell you that you don’t need to exercise for an hour every day, and he’s probably right, its just a habit I got into and I don’t yet feel right quitting at the 30 minute mark.

Of course, the shorter workouts are likely a bonus for most people.

Conclusion

So far, so good.  I’m enjoying the workouts.  As I sit here writing this my shoulders and pecs are sore from doing push-ups and medicine ball thrusters, so I know things are working.

Leave a Reply

